5 Things I’ve Learned from Living Overseas, Part Four

I’ve been living in Chiang Mai, Thailand for roughly six years now (though I’m not currently there, because of COVID-19). I thought it would be fun to give you a little insight into 5 things I’ve learned from living overseas.

But, as I said last week, when went to write all of this down, I realized that I had way too much to say about each of these topics, and they each deserved their own post. So, here we are, on part four of five!

Here’s a refresher list:

  1. It’s not wrong, it’s just different
  2. Sometimes it isn’t “color,” it’s “culture”
  3. It’s important to know who you truly are
  4. Beauty is diverse
  5. How to see things from a different perspective

Beauty is Diverse

Moving overseas, I got the interesting experience of being the minority. And I also got the wonderful experience of being surrounded by people who looked wholly and completely different, yet were all made in the image of God. Whether they were from Pakistan, Korea, Thailand, China, England, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, the United States, or elsewhere, they were all absolutely gorgeously created in the image of a beautiful God.

On top of seeing people from all different countries, I got to see cultures from all over the world. And I truly began to realize what diverse beauty looks like. It’s more than just skin color – it’s cultures, experiences, everything that comes together to create an individual, unique person.

It took me a while to come to fully appreciate the Thai culture, and even now, I don’t think I’m perfect at it. It’s hard to fully appreciate something you can’t fully understand, but I’ve seen so many beautiful things. Holidays like Songkran (basically a city-wide water fight) and Loi Krathong (think Disney’s Tangled), customs like the Wai, the people – the list goes on and on.

Moving to Thailand helped me fully appreciate the beauty around me. Whether it’s fall in the United States, or summer in Chiang Mai, Thailand. Whether you have light skin or dark. Whether you’ve traveled the world or you’ve never left your home state.

God created such beautiful things. Such beautiful things. And I think it’s important, as Christians, to open our eyes, look around, and fully appreciate them.

I think in today’s culture, we’re very good at celebrating diversity in people’s appearances. Magazines, media, and TV shows are full of people that look different (although, admittedly, usually very super-model-like). But even though I love America very much, I have to admit that we haven’t fully grasped seeing the beauty in other cultures. Why?

Well, I think a lot of it has to do with fear. Fear of being accused of cultural appropriation. Fear of being misunderstood, or accidentally coming across insensitively when it wasn’t your intention at all. And, of course, America likes to celebrate America – so does that mean celebrating other cultures would be bad?

But the fact of the matter is, America (or, rather, the country of the United States of America) is one big conglomeration of cultures. We’re a nation of immigrants, after all.

So, this week, I want to encourage you. I want to encourage you to do a little research on a culture that intrigues you. Learn to appreciate another culture, and see the beauty of it. It isn’t wrong – and I think you’ll find that people from that culture will appreciate your interest in it.

Is there a culture other than the one you grew up in that you find fascinating? Tell me about it in the comments below!

Published by Julia Witmer

Julia Witmer is a Christian fantasy writer and author of the clean young adult fantasy novel “A Wilted Willow.” Growing up overseas in Chiang Mai, Thailand, inspired her from a young age to write unusual stories about other worlds, cultures, and magical encounters, and has continued to influence the worlds she creates. Follow along on her writing journey to explore novels of hope-filled whimsy with a dash of darkness.

13 thoughts on “5 Things I’ve Learned from Living Overseas, Part Four

  1. Interesting post on culture and how it can relate to fear…. After uploading my last website lesson on the Biblical meaning of love, I too will be writing about overcoming fear in my next lesson. Not because it is associated with love (haha), but because I have some life changing decisions to make. But that is OK… I also have faith and hope! God will have a plan for me!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s something I’ve definitely been learning from God lately. He can “see over the fence that blocks my view,” so to speak. He knows what the best next step to take is, so it only makes sense to trust Him! It makes overcoming fear not EASY, but easIER, at least!

      Like

  2. This is so true. And I found your point of just celebrating people’s different looks and looks alone so good. You’re right. We shouldn’t just appreciate different colours (which is so important) but also different cultures as well.
    I am really fascinated by Japan and Finland. My current WIP is set in Japan and a future one is going to be set in Finland. I’m using the excuse of writing stories in those countries to know more about them. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The most interesting thing about Japan is the culture, and with Finland it is their mythology and language. Those are the things that first got me really interested in them. I’m sure when I properly researched them, there would be tons more things that are interesting to me.
        I have never travelled overseas before, and happy not to, but I would like to go the places for real if I can. Going to the places that inspired the settings of my stories would be such an amazing thing.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. These are some great thoughts, Julia! Growing up in another culture is such a privilege because it opens your eyes to the beauty of other cultures and helps you better appreciate diversity. I’m also an MK. I live in South Africa, which is known as the Rainbow Nation because it has so many diverse people groups. I love going out and being able to hear a variety of different languages being spoken, such as Afrikaans and Xhosa, and just coming into contact with so many different nationalities from around the world. Even just within our church, we Xhosa, Afrikaans, British, a Kenyan, and even a Hungarian lady, which is really neat!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This post is such a wonderful thing to think about!
    Different cultures are so unique. I like how you pointed out the diversity even within the united states. I grew up in a different culture than most of america, because I’m a Mennonite (we definitely have our own culture). I love Thailand’s culture and I’ve always loved middle eastern and religious cultures. (Muslim and Jewish especially)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, and thank you for reading it!
      That’s such an interesting perspective. I hadn’t even considered what a variety of cultures there are just within the Christian faith for some reason! That’s SO interesting to think about.
      Oh, yes, those are some very intriguing cultures to me as well, though I haven’t done much research on them.
      Thank you for your comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment